Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
SD Boot code in ROM - misconceptions??? — Parallax Forums

SD Boot code in ROM - misconceptions???

Cluso99Cluso99 Posts: 18,069
edited 2020-11-10 00:48 in Propeller 2
SD Boot code in ROM

There seems to be some misconceptions that it's not reliable. This is definitely not the case as far as I know.

Some history...
I have been using SD cards successfully on the P1 for over 10 years. In many of those designs I share the pins with SRAM (my RamBlade boards) without problems once I patched the various software drivers for a bug in some SD cards not releasing DO drive low after SD access completes.

I always recommend using SanDisk SD cards as these seem to work reliably whereas other brands seem to have various issues as has been reported on various websites over the years. Even though I have only shipped legitimate SanDisk microSD's, I have used many other brands without problems.

I wrote the SD boot code in ROM for the P2 Rev A. There was a problem that some SD cards failed to release driving the DO pin low, resulting in a problem if the Flash chip was subsequently accessed after the P2 had booted or tried to boot from the SD. In all cases where the P2 booted from Flash there was no problem. This was because in my rewrite of the SD driver for P2 I missed some of the DO cleardown routines. Note there were only about 110 Rev A chips ever made, and they are now obsolete due to other instruction improvements made to the chip.