Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Welcome to the C/C++ code category! — Parallax Forums

Welcome to the C/C++ code category!

The category for all varieties of C/C++ used with the Parallax Propeller 1 and 2.
Supported by the Parallax community.

Comments

• Ahle2Ahle2 Posts: 1,178
    edited 2021-12-10 11:00

Finally a forum for C++! :smiley:

I know that a lot of people (especially hobbyists) doesn't like C++ (it's understandable considered the vastness of it and sometimes the verbosity). Still it's THE choice for professional embedded development for a reason. I have said it many times before, but I say it yet again. The P2 NEEDS GCC or Clang, then a lot more companies will consider the P2 instead of ARMs, Atmels, PICs. etc for embedded systems. In my work life as an embedded programmer I rarely come across a job that isn't C, C++ or Rust in 2021 (or in 2012 for that matter, minus Rust). Python is fantastic and widely used in embedded projects for scripting, testing, building, tools etc, but for the actual code running on the processor in the end, it's mostly those mentioned above.

The P2 is a fantastic microcontroller and deserves GCC or Clang badly! I want to nudge Parallax to give this a priority.
    Still, my feeling in the forums, is that quite a small percentage of people consider this a problem and for their own needs they are mostly happy with Basic, Spin, Pasm, Python, TAQOZ and the different "in house" C compilers (I love flexspin), and why shouldn't they? All of those are nice choices and everybody can choose what they like. I program the P2 in Spin2 a lot and like it, but if I would ever do a more complex project or a commercial project I would choose C++ (and Pasm for drivers).