Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
P2 Stepper Motor using Trinamics TMC2590 over SPI — Parallax Forums

P2 Stepper Motor using Trinamics TMC2590 over SPI

mjaved47mjaved47 Posts: 21
edited 2021-04-14 08:03 in Propeller 2

Greetings everyone. It has not been that long since I came to learn about P2. While I was going through various options for a project, a friend of mine suggested P2. And it's great to learn about such an active community here.

I have been checking resources about P2 and trying to get along the Spin2 language, at a complete beginner level. I don't have any prior experience with Spin1 either. Although I have been using other platforms such as Arduino and RaspberryPi for a while now. I wonder if there's a structured series of tutorials for a complete beginner on Spin2.

Moreover, has anyone tried controlling Trinamics motor drivers over SPI using P2? In my project, I intend to control multiple stepper motors using TMC2590 in SPI Mode.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• I have just used the TMC2208 to drive two stepper motors though. They are very quiet, even when you turn them on, nothing. I think they are not powered but when I supply the steps to them they turn just like that.

Unlike you, I have not crossed over to the SPIN side.

SPI works great with both the P1 and the P2.

Mike

• What platform do you preferably use or would suggest to the P2 beginners to get started?

• It's all about the journey.

If you like programming in C, you can continue to do that with little effort. The flexprop compiler works great and I use Visual Code to do the programming.

Check out these projects to see how it's done.
    P2 Edge RoadSteer
    P2 Edge Goes for a ride
    P2 Edge SCARA does Tower

Mike

• mjaved47mjaved47 Posts: 21
    edited 2021-04-14 12:15

Check out these projects to see how it's done.

Indeed, I have been going through them. They are interesting and inspiring. Great job!

If any, could you please share a template or an example for P2 SPI?