Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Turn on 2 LEDs with 1 button — Parallax Forums

Turn on 2 LEDs with 1 button

Hi I'm quite new to microprocessors.
I have a basic stamp 2 and I am working on a program which turns turns two LEDs on an off with one button as follows: Button is pressed the first time and LED1 goes on. Button is pressed the second time and both LEDs are on. Button is pressed the third time and both LEDs go off. I played around all morning with "Button" and "count" etc but had not much luck as I am still lacking the required knowledge. Could somebody help me please.

Comments

• How about you start with a program that makes the LED follow the button. That is, when the button is pushed the LED is "ON" and when the button is released the LED is "OFF". When that works, you can build on it.
  • In the BASIC Stamp editor, pull down the Help menu and open the "What's a Microcontroller?" PDF. Chapters 2 and 3 will get you going.
  • OK did you hookup the LED's correctlly to the pins and use a current limiting resistor
  • How about you start with a program that makes the LED follow the button. That is, when the button is pushed the LED is "ON" and when the button is released the LED is "OFF". When that works, you can build on it.

I have got that far with the code but struggle with the part that keeps LEDs to stay on when the button is released. I don't expect you to write code for me, just need to be pointed into the right direction. Thanks
  • Jeff Haas wrote: »
    In the BASIC Stamp editor, pull down the Help menu and open the "What's a Microcontroller?" PDF. Chapters 2 and 3 will get you going.

Thanks, l have been there but
    couldn't find any help that keeps the LEDs on when the button is released again. Even Google did not come up with any answers.
  • DigitalBob wrote: »
    OK did you hookup the LED's correctlly to the pins and use a current limiting resistor