Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Out of Ram/Program Space and Challenging Soldering... — Parallax Forums

Out of Ram/Program Space and Challenging Soldering...

I've been enjoying this forum for a few years, ever since I came upon the website some years back.
So my interest led me buy some of the Prop boards, which I never used since I don't know how to (not the programming but the electronic side of it) hahaha...

But ultimately my lack of electronic skills has (nearly) let me down...
I've been trying to assemble a board to my (wishful) requirements...
I've been doing some soldering work on it maybe once a month or once every few months over the last 3 years.

All the time I've wanted to create a framework onto which I can build better things hopefully.
I think I can do the programming but have now run out of program space.

What I would like to know, if anyone could point me in the right direction.. Is...
Which Editor/IDE do I use if I want to program in SPIN and use the LMM

Don't laugh but there's a pic of the (nearly complete) board I've been soldering for 3 years hahaha
Hopefully I'' have it ready for Christmas wit woooo :))

I just need to add some decoupling capacitors here and there and some link wires....

Jaan Doh

PropFull_NotEnoughMem.jpg
IMG_20201120_185150.jpg

Comments

• IIRC, LMM is for putting assembly instructions into the hub. I could be wrong, but I don't know of any programs that mix Spin and LMM PASM, unless it's something custom.

I ran into a problem a few years ago where I ran out of code space on the P1. The *problem* is that the official Parallax compiler doesn't remove unused methods. What I ended up doing was using BST, a cross-platform clone (ish) of Propeller Tool. It has the ability to analyze the code to tell you variables that you may not be using, and will remove unused methods if you like. I think there are other Spin compilers that do this, too -- perhaps @"Roy Eltham" can assist, as he's up on those topics.