Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
2D digitiser help needed — Parallax Forums

2D digitiser help needed

As the title suggests I need help to build the code for a 2D digitiser, this will consist of two quadrature encoders, one on X axis and one on Y, with some kind of pen or stylus. The stylus is moved by hand to a point to be recorded, a button is pressed and the coordinates stored in memory, it is then moved to another point, store those coordinates and so on. Eventually the data needs to be uploaded to a PC somehow and ideally converted to a DXF file or at least something that can be used by a CAD program.
I want to use the prop since it will store and manipulate 32 bit numbers and this will easily be enough for full sheet measurements to a couple of decimal places.

I am no programmer and while I would be more than happy for somebody to completely write the program and post it here I think that may possibly be asking a bit much.
What I would appreciate is a process overview so I can break the program into chunks and get to work.
My plan so far is as follows:

1. Use the Quadrature encoder object already written, this will handle encoder reading and position updating, will also support 16 encoders so I could make this a 3D digitiser (2.5D from a CNC machining perspective) without a great deal of effort in the future.

2. Incorporate a push button to store the position, simple enough, shouldn't lose too much hair on that one.

3. I guess a serial LCD displaying the coordinates would be a good idea.

4. Store the data somewhere, this I am unsure about, I was thinking of no more than 255 positions would be required for x and y combined, so 127 coordinates (I was originally going to use an 8 bit avr)
I am not sure of the best way to do this, would appreciate suggestions, keeping in mind the plan is to upload these (probably serially) to a PC.