Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How to get started with Linux ? - Page 2 — Parallax Forums

How to get started with Linux ?

2»

Comments

• Peter JakackiPeter Jakacki Posts: 10,193
    edited 2020-10-17 02:32
    Be sure to install webmin on your linux machine. It's a web-based system that makes managing and configuring linux much easier than all that command-line fol-de-rol.

-Phil

Ugh, never heard of it and never used it. Just tried to have a look at it but it wasn't in the software manager and so I had to find a suitable dowload and there seems to be some command line stuff you need to muck around with to get it installed. Seeing that I have never used or needed it before, is it worth while for a beginner?

@Cluso99 - to embrace anything, you have to let go of whatever it is you are still holding onto. If it is a rather sad and demanding Windows, then let go. Install Linux and install Kicad and maybe a few other specials but pretty much everything else is preinstalled. Just like we had to finally let go of Protel to embrace Kicad and there was a slight relearning curve, but there are no regrets, and no desire to go back to what was.
  • Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2020-10-17 02:49
    Seeing that I have never used or needed it before, is it worth while for a beginner?
    I would say yes. It is for me, since my main linux box is headless. It handles my email and serves as a backup and firewall. Using webmin, I can access and configure it from any computer on my network. Okay, I can also do the same from the command line using a remote X client, but webmin does make some things easier and doesn't require a special client to be installed -- just a browser. IIRC, it came with the Ubuntu installation on that machine; but that was years ago, so I might not be remembering correctly.

-Phil
  • evanhevanh Posts: 15,126
    I think Bean is wanting to try Linux as a desktop setup, not a web server.