Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Barebones Propeller not Found using Simple IDE and Prop Plug — Parallax Forums

Barebones Propeller not Found using Simple IDE and Prop Plug

Hey everyone, I'm fairly new at using parallax processors and have run into a problem trying to program a P8X32A-Q44 on a PCB I designed. I started out just trying to program the propeller without much else on the board except the bypass caps on the power pins and two LEDs to test my program and a 10MHz Oscillator (which I believe should not affect the chips ability to have programs downloaded onto it since it uses internal RC for the boot up) and currently no EEPROM, but every time I try to upload my program using the Prop Plug and SimpleIDE I get the same error message: ERROR: Propeller not Found on COM5.

The troubleshooting I have done so far as been testing all my traces for continuity, apply power and measuring the voltages on the VCC pins to verify they were getting 3.3V, measured the current draw of the chip (~2mA) to make sure it was drawing the correct amount of power and tested the prop plug with a propeller mini to verify it wasn't the Prop Plug. I'm fairly certain it's not my computer since all my drivers are properly installed and the Prop Plug is correctly identified in the device manager. I've also reinstalled drivers, restarted my computer, and unplugged and plugged the prop, but nothing changed.

When I do try to upload the program with Prop Plug, the blue light on the plug flashed once after it tries to load the program for a while, and then I get the error.

I also tried messing around with the reset settings, switching between DTR and RTS, but from what I've read it seems that the prop plug is designed to use DTR.