Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Traffic Light Duration Issue — Parallax Forums

Traffic Light Duration Issue

Let me preface with I am very new to all of this and have only been doing it for roughly three weeks. Anyways, for a class I need to just write a Pseudo-Code for two traffic lights at an intersection. Simple enough but I wanted to write code for it. The issue is initially the first green light is supposed to be on for 30 seconds while at the same time the second red light is supposed to be on for 40 seconds. Then the yellows each for ten seconds and finally the first red for 40 seconds and the second green for 30. The Pseudo-Code was easy enough but what I am struggling with is getting the lights to turn on together but have separate duration. I'm not sure if I am over complicating it or its just a lack of knowledge. I am not looking for someone to write the code for me, all I am looking for is help in finding out if what I am trying to do is possible with PBASIC 2.5 or at least the right place to look in the help book.

Comments

• You might think about the idea of having a timer mechanism that ticks every 10’seconds. That “tick” causes a sequencer (a wheel) to advance by one position. The sequencer can actuate up to 6 outputs (switches) which are activated by a pattern of pins set into the wheel. So as the wheel turns, it activates combinations of switches according to the pattern of pins. Each switch gets connected to a light.

So now you have a mechanical device that would actually work in real life. (As a matter of fact, 40 years ago, this is exactly how traffic lights worked!). All that remains is to emulate this behavior in software.

I would suggest to you that the “wheel” might be implemented as a software loop, and the “ticker” is a software timer. I’ll leave it up to you to devise how to make the “pins” in the “wheel” work. :)

Btw: welcome!!