Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
ASM within a FlexBASIC routine — Parallax Forums

ASM within a FlexBASIC routine

JRoarkJRoark Posts: 1,215
edited 2019-12-02 14:02 in Propeller 2
After three hours of headbanging, I'm ready to swallow my pride and ask the experts. :)

I'm trying to dip my toe into putting assembly code inside of a FlexBASIC function. Here is what I'm trying to do (as an example).
   dim myVar, shifts as uLong
   myVar = 1024
   shifts = 8
   print BitShiftRight(myVar, shifts)

FUNCTION BitShiftRight(x as ulong, y as ulong) as ulong
'shifts X to right Y places
   dim theAnswer as ulong
   ASM
        (dark magic happens here to get stuff into, and out of the assembly block after shifting X to the right Y places)
   END ASM

return theAnswer

END FUNCTION
I feel like a total noob here. The shifts I have no problem with. I can write this in standalone assembly. But I have utterly no idea how to "hook-up" the assembly stuff to the input params, and then "get the answer" out of the assembly block and into the BASIC RETURN value. Can anyone enlighten me how this works?

Comments

• Oh for the love of Pete. It turns out I was REALLY overthinking this. The answer is frighteningly simple.

ASM
          SHR	x, y
       END ASM

return x

END FUNCTION

That's it. No fancy pointers. No address-of. No mucking about with fancy passing methods.

Now if someone could please hand me the dunce hat, I'll go work on some plumbing or something... :)
  • kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    JRoark wrote: »
    Oh for the love of Pete. It turns out I was REALLY overthinking this. The answer is frighteningly simple.

ASM
          SHR	x, y
       END ASM

return x

END FUNCTION

That's it. No fancy pointers. No address-of. No mucking about with fancy passing methods.

Now if someone could please hand me the dunce hat, I'll go work on some plumbing or something... :)