Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Array To Binary, and Convert that from Binary To Decimal — Parallax Forums

Array To Binary, and Convert that from Binary To Decimal

Hi,
I am working a a program that fetches data from an ADC using SPI,
I am able to store the values of the sensor in an array
that looks somewhat like this [0,1,0,1,1,0,1,0]
I have found a binaray to decimal converter
return (((BCD >> 4) * 10) + (BCD & $F)) (https://forums.parallax.com/discussion/134931/binary-to-decimal)
How am i able to convery my array to a proper binary number and then convert that to decimal?
I'm sorry if this question seems dumb i have only experimented with the propeller tool a few days

Comments

• Why do you have an array of ones and zeroes? If you're using SPI, you can build the value(s) on-the-fly.
  • @Jon From reading the values of MOSI using pin.in(x)
    Or is it wrong, it's my first time bitbanging
  • A number is a number... the only difference between "binary" and "decimal" is how it's displayed to humans. That is, 127, $7F, and %01111111 are all the same number, displayed in decimal, hex, and binary notations respectively.

If you've read the bits 0, 1, 0, 1, 1, 0, 1, 0 you probably want to reconstruct the number %01011010. As Jon suggested, it's probably simplest to do this on the fly; something like:
      '' read 8 bits
      val := 0 ' final value
      repeat 8
        bit := next_pin_value ' pseudo code, replace with your real bit reading code
        val := (val << 1) | bit

The final line shifts the contents of val left and then or's in the next bit. At the end you will have an 8 bit value val (i.e. a byte) that you can do whatever you want with.
  • From reading the values of MOSI using pin.in(x)

I think you probably meant MISO (Master In Slave Out), which is how the ADC (slave device) would return data to the propeller (master device). MOSI (Master Out Slave In) is used for sending data from the propeller (such as commands) to the ADC.

Walter