Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Your advice please — Parallax Forums

Your advice please

GMACD53GMACD53 Posts: 10
edited 2018-04-17 05:14 in General Discussion
I am very new to this field but do come from a PLC Ladder Programing / Relay Logic background.
I have written a PLC Ladder Program for a project which I have not built because it required a lot of sensors (some of which are not practical to mount) for a relatively simple task.
I had a hunch that with the right hardware this project could be greatly simplified.
My hunch was half right when I discovered Ping))) Laser sensors in that the hardware aspect is much simpler but Stamp Basic and Blockly are a bit daunting at this stage.
This project involves 4x LaserPing sensors, Microcontroller and 4x Relays for interfacing to another control.
My question is two-fold...
1) Is someone interested in doing this project for me terms negotiable?
Bearing in mind it has commercial potential especially if a corded or wireless remote is added replacing the dumb controller that is being sold today.
2) Failing the above what is the best Microcontroller and what do I need to get this project off the ground.
Note: I am a Mac OS Yosemite user.

I am having an attempt to learn BrocklyProp so please take a look at my Test by GMACD53 and comment...

Any advice greatly appreciated!

Regards

Guy

Comments

• jmgjmg Posts: 15,140
    GMACD53 wrote: »
    I am very new to this field but do come from a PLC Ladder Programing / Relay Logic background.
    ..... but Stamp Basic and Blockly are a bit daunting at this stage.

If you have a PLC background, I'm surprised Blocky is daunting ?
    This project involves 4x LaserPing sensors, Microcontroller and 4x Relays for interfacing to another control.
    That's a bit vague - what is the interface to another controller - is that via relay contacts only ?

My guess is Blocky supports Laser ping examples, did you try those ?