Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Is the Propeller 2 out? — Parallax Forums

Is the Propeller 2 out?

Hey guys,
So I'm very new to the propeller microcontroller
and a few days ago stumbled upon articles about the Propeller 2. Many of them old, like from 2014.
However, I couldn't find any images of it yet. I did find a lot of FPGA pictures though.
Is the Prop2 out yet? Is it the form of a chip, or do I have to downloag HDL/Verilog code to an FPGA?

Thanks!

Comments

• An FPGA image is out. It's posted at the top of this thread:

http://forums.parallax.com/discussion/162298/prop2-fpga-files-updated-1-january-2018-version-31/p1

I have no idea why there isn't a direct link to this in a sticky.
  • But is there an actual chip? Or is the FPGA image all there is?
  • No chip yet. Maybe later this year.
  • cgraceycgracey Posts: 14,133
    If things go according to schedule, we will have prototypes in July, production a few months later.
  • picopico Posts: 29
    edited 2018-01-17 21:24
    Oh my gosh! Hey Chip!
    pico wrote: »
    Oh my gosh! Hey Chip!

Hi, Pico! Who are you?
  • evanhevanh Posts: 15,126
    David Betz wrote: »
    An FPGA image is out. It's posted at the top of this thread:

http://forums.parallax.com/discussion/162298/prop2-fpga-files-updated-1-january-2018-version-31/p1

I have no idea why there isn't a direct link to this in a sticky.

Cluso has linked that one in his stickied topic, but that does involve a little bit of concentration to identify. Stickying the FPGA release topic itself would be the better way.

• picopico Posts: 29
    edited 2018-01-17 22:34
    Just a newcomer, I bought my first propeller about a week ago. Super cool chip, super fun to toy around with! Waiting for the Prop 2!
    I'm Seoul, South Korea, but attend high school in the US, EE is my hobby.
    pico wrote: »
    Just a newcomer, I bought my first propeller about a week ago. Super cool chip, super fun to toy around with! Waiting for the Prop 2!