Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Looking for a vendor for 0.6 - 0.8 mm shafts — Parallax Forums

Looking for a vendor for 0.6 - 0.8 mm shafts

varnonvarnon Posts: 184
edited 2017-10-02 14:43 in General Discussion
Hi all,

I haven't posted or even read much on the forums in a while. I've been very busy finishing my phd, with a propeller-powered dissertation, and applying for jobs. I'm now an assistant professor psychology (animal behavior), and I'm looking to start working on some more animal behavior research equipment. I had to leave most of my old equipment at my previous lab, as it was built on my advisor's budget. As I'm working on new things, I'm rethinking the designs a little.

This time I'm working on a shuttle box that can deliver shock across a small grid. I'll be using this to study learning in insects. It occurs to me, that for the insects I am working with, 0.1" pin header spacing is about what I want for the shock grid. I would like to find rods that can fit into the female pin headers. This would be very useful for me, and it would make my equipment much easier to design, assemble, clean, and modify.

I'm measuring the pins at ~0.64 mm from side to side, or ~0.8 mm diagonal. I think 0.6 or 0.7 mm rods would work. Uncut copper pin header rods would be fine, but stainless steel rods would be even better. I will likely need something 100 - 200 mm long. So far, I have not found rigid rods of this diameter at the vendors I normally check. I mostly only find flexible wire. I have found a few dowel pins that are close, but they are either not the right diameter, or very short

Any suggestions?

Comments

• Heater.Heater. Posts: 21,230
    Not sure there is any material that is 0.07 mm diameter and 200mm long that is noticeably rigid.

I suspect what you need is something like stainless steel wire and stretch it taut over a frame. Think tennis racket.
  • varnonvarnon Posts: 184
    edited 2017-10-02 14:43