Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Memory overflow issue with 9 axis motion sensor module — Parallax Forums

Memory overflow issue with 9 axis motion sensor module

alex93alex93 Posts: 11
edited 2017-09-25 20:19 in Robotics
Hello everybody,

I am a french student in internship at university of Miami , who is using an activitybot robot kit in the context of a project.
I bought an LSM9DS1 9-axis motion sensor module in order to get accelerations of my robot.
However, when i am calling function to read accelerations (imu_readAccelCalculated(&ax, &ay, &az)) , i got a memory overflow issue during compilation.
The issue that i got is :

Project Directory: /Users/deniz/Desktop/Robot project/
/Applications/SimpleIDE.app/Contents/propeller-gcc/bin/../lib/gcc/propeller-elf/4.6.1/../../../../propeller-elf/bin/ld: cmm/V3_9AXIS.elf section `.bss' will not fit in region `hub'
/Applications/SimpleIDE.app/Contents/propeller-gcc/bin/../lib/gcc/propeller-elf/4.6.1/../../../../propeller-elf/bin/ld: region `hub' overflowed by 944 bytes
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
Done. Build Failed!

Your program is too big for the memory model selected in the project.

Could you help me about this issue ?

Furthermore , I would like to know where are saved library/function files and how to recompile them if I modify them.

Thanks in advance,

Alex

Comments

• The 32K RAM size is a limiting factor with C on the Prop. The biggest memory users are SD file I/O, floating point and formatted output using printf/sprintf. The size for formatted output can be reduced by using "Simple printf" with the compiler or "Tiny Lib" with the linker. However, this doesn't help if you use sprintf or fprintf. If you use those functions you will need to write smaller version of them that support only the formats that you need.

Floating point should be avoided if possible. If you do need floating point make sure you select "32bit Double" in the compiler options.