Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Can not calibrate servos — Parallax Forums

Can not calibrate servos

trelozakinthinostrelozakinthinos Posts: 13
edited 2017-02-08 20:11 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,
I have two servos for my robot and I read that I must calibrate them because it is very difficult to have the same speed both!
So I give them maximum values (500, 1000) and I see for example that the right servo is faster so I reduce its value until it goes straight.
The problem is that while I test the new settings it starts to turn to the opposite way (eg the left servo is faster).

I also made a programm that it turn the wheel only one time. I made a mark and I found the time it needs for the turn. But testing the same settings again and again I found that it is not accurate. Sometimes it was exactly on the spot and other was before or after the spot.

I wonder if this is normal. If it is not what could possibly wrong? The voltage is 5.59 (4*1.5V).
It is my first time I am working with servos

Comments

• PublisonPublison Posts: 12,366
    edited 2017-02-08 20:56
    What platform are you running the servos on? Boe Bot ?
  • No, it is DeAgostini's robot (it was in Greece weekly based magazine with parts). Check my signature and profile picture for more info! I do not know what you need more! :)
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    Continuous rotation servos are modified from their original design and cannot go to a specific point. Even when you pulse them the same number of times you will be off a little each time to to over/undershoot and/or variations in the circuitry that adjusts the speed. You may also need different values for reverse than you use for forward (you can't just reverse them) to adjust trim.