Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Smart Golf Balls — Parallax Forums

Smart Golf Balls

Hello!

I am a graduate student from the Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT).
I am a Mechanical Engineer and I am a little bit lost with embedded systems... :(

I am working on the final project of my studies and I am trying to develop a trackable golf ball. I was thinking about using a Bluetooth LE device which would be allocated on the core of the ball. It should be as small and light as possible and I was wondering if it would be possible to be a cubic, spheric, cylindrical or other shape instead of flat like the regular ones, so the surface could be reduced and it would affect less to the dynamics of the ball.
Which would be the approximated minimum surface of a bluetooth LE device? 
if it is possible to do it in a cubic shape what could be approximately the size of each surface?
And do you know an approximately minimum weight that could be reached for the device?

Thank you so much for your time and help.

Comments

• Have you thought about impact-resistance?
  • With 4000 pounds of force on the ball when driven, I'd not just be worried about the balance etc, but what happens to the electronics on impact.
  • I got this from one of erco's posts, I dont think there is any electronics that can take this:
    640 x 435 - 45K
  • During Christmas I was in Naperville, IL and went to this place called "Top Golf". It's sorta an amusement park / driving range concept where the balls have RFID tags in them, matched to the player at the time of T-off. You drive them out into various holes, traps and features to score points.

Would RFID work in your application? If so, I'm thinking you could go to Top Golf and get some of their balls, do a bit of research on the internet about how they work, and maybe read them yourself.

Ken Gracey
  • jmgjmg Posts: 15,140
    Ken Gracey wrote: »