Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Tachyon V4 "DAWN" - exploring new worlds — Parallax Forums

Tachyon V4 "DAWN" - exploring new worlds

Peter JakackiPeter Jakacki Posts: 10,193
edited 2016-11-17 01:23 in Propeller 1
Taking a fresh look at Tachyon since I first implemented it in 2012 I got to thinking what would happen if I used 16-bits instead of 8-bits for the opcode? I know it takes up twice as much memory for the simpler functions and as soon as I encode a literal it takes up 4 bytes. Originally even high-level calls were only 2 bytes long since they used a vector table but V3 cut back on the preset table so many calls are now 3-bytes anyway.

Nonetheless I started playing with some code so that a 16-bit opcode could still efficiently call PASM code while only wasting one extra cycle. Addresses above the usable cog range of 0..$1C0(ish) would automatically call a high-level function which means it would push and replace the IP (instruction pointer) onto the return stack. This is good as I don't need to waste a 16-bit opcode plus address to tell it to call a function and it seems a bit like a conventional 16-bit address Forth.

But it's an opcode interpreter and not a dumb address interpreter so any address above hub ram is interpreted as a 15-bit literal and pushed onto the stack. That's great and that's even more compact and efficient than bytecode and because now there is no need to use up cog code for fast constants either (in addition to the elimination of absolute and vectored CALL code).
0018(0000) 0C 16 BC 04 | doNEXT                  rdword  instr,IP                'read word code instruction
001C(0001) 02 18 FC 81 |                         add     IP,#2 wc                'advance IP to next wordcode (clears the carry too!)
0020(0002) 09 16 7C 2A |                         shr     instr,#9 nr,wz          ' cog or hub?