Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
What's the state of micrcontrollers these days? - Page 8 — Parallax Forums

What's the state of micrcontrollers these days?

Comments

• RaymanRayman Posts: 13,797
    edited 2016-04-23 11:02
    I would claim that Java and JavaScript and lots of other things are just C++ modified to work in a specialized application...

This reminded me that I wish Spin had more of a C++ syntax...

Now that I think about it, I suppose Spin with a more C++ syntax would be similar to JavaScript...
  • Rayman wrote: »
    I would claim that Java and JavaScript and lots of other things are just C++ modified to work in a specialized application...
    They are totally different languages that just happen to have some common syntactic elements.

To me, the syntax is nearly identical... I've cut and pasted decent size pieces of code between them and had it work with just some minor changes. Maybe it's because I'm not a programmer, but to me the syntax is most of what makes the language...
    To me, the syntax is nearly identical... I've cut and pasted decent size pieces of code between them and had it work with just some minor changes. Maybe it's because I'm not a programmer, but to me the syntax is most of what makes the language...
    Yes, it could be because you are not a programmer. All of the languages were based on the C/C++ syntax but they are very different semantically.

Here's a quote from Wikipedia on JavaScript:

"The syntax of JavaScript is actually derived from C"
  • David BetzDavid Betz Posts: 14,511
    edited 2016-04-23 11:30
    Rayman wrote: »
    Here's a quote from Wikipedia on JavaScript:

"The syntax of JavaScript is actually derived from C"