Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Spin under SimpleIDE: compiled or interpreted? — Parallax Forums

Spin under SimpleIDE: compiled or interpreted?

samuellsamuell Posts: 554
edited 2016-04-12 08:56 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi,

I've recently discovered that SimpleIDE supports the Spin language. I'm really new to that language, and I'm confused because it can be compiled (or translated to machine code) or interpreted on chip, depending on the reference I read. So, my question is, if I use SimpleIDE to program in Spin, will my code compile or be interpreted on the fly?

I ask this because interpreted languages are not my cup of tea, as they are by no means faster.

Also, is C actually being compiled, or sort of interpreted? I notice that it could be a lot faster. My PC has two "cogs" running at 3.2GHz, and is at least 1000x plus faster when calculating prime numbers than the P8X32A, that has 8 cogs, but uses 7 of them to perform the calculations. Doesn't make sense that the difference is so big, considering that I'm using LMM to boost it up.

Kind regards, Samuel Lourenço

Comments

• Heater.Heater. Posts: 21,230
    The Spin language is compiled. But it is not compiled into native processor instructions it is compiled into bytecodes. These bytecodes are what gets loaded into the Propeller. The Propeller contains within it's ROM a byte code interpreter for those byte codes.

The result of this is that your program is compiled down to a small size allows more functionality in the limited space of the Prop. But it is much slower than executing native instructions.

This is all somewhat like the Java system.

The above is true for the original Prop Tool, and later tools like BST, HomeSpun, OpenSpin, PropellerIDE, SimpleIDE. I believe you can now compile Spin to native code with some newer tools. I have never tried this.