Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Waveform Generation and Damping Analysis — Parallax Forums

Waveform Generation and Damping Analysis

I am a newbie here and an electronics wannabe ... but a decent programmer.

About my project:
For my first Propeller project I want to perform audio range modal analyses (i.e. apply a waveform to a physical material sample (eg. lightweight woods, plastic or similar) and see how the wave is modified [damped, phase-shifted etc] after travelling through the physical sample.

I have in mind this logical assembly:
* Cog 1 : set up waveform generation [Sine with Sweep in the 10 Hz -> 2 kHz range] and the digital out pin should apply current to a ceramic piezo, thus causing causing vibration (don't know whether I will need an amplifier here); this piezo is placed directly onto the sample
* Cog 2 : set up a triggered ADC collector to receive the signal generated by a second piezo at the opposite end of the sample; probably this signal will need to be amplified, but only experiments will tell

I would then like to "FFT the sine response data and display frequency domain spectra".
Now, I will do all of that post-processing work back in Android-land most likely (Bluetooth data pull back to the device following the completion of the data capture).
But, if the FFT can take place on the board cost effectively, then I will do so before pulling the data back.
I do not want to have a hi-res display as part of the Propeller enclosure, since this experimental data capture is not the place for such expensive and bulky equipment.
I would like to have a basic LCD panel and hardware buttons which would allow me to modify the user-data configurations that I have pushed onto the Propeller box (also via BT).
I assume all user-data will be on a card, accessible for BT commands to I/O via Propeller API.