Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Brads Spin Tool - BST Solved — Parallax Forums

Brads Spin Tool - BST Solved

highplainsbubbahighplainsbubba Posts: 34
edited 2015-07-24 20:27 in Propeller 1
installed BST on Linux Mint 17.2 and it ran fine but would not connect to the Proto Board I had attached. Ran this  and it seems to see the serial converter on my USB. $ dmesg | tail[ 9889.989238] usb 2-1: Product: FT232R USB UART[ 9889.989249] usb 2-1: Manufacturer: FTDI[ 9889.989260] usb 2-1: SerialNumber: AE00BT6C[ 9889.997390] ftdi_sio 2-1:1.0: FTDI USB Serial Device converter detected[ 9889.997732] usb 2-1: Detected FT232RL[ 9889.997754] usb 2-1: Number of endpoints 2[ 9889.997773] usb 2-1: Endpoint 1 MaxPacketSize 64[ 9889.997791] usb 2-1: Endpoint 2 MaxPacketSize 64[ 9889.997810] usb 2-1: Setting MaxPacketSize 64[ 9889.999582] usb 2-1: FTDI USB Serial Device converter now attached to ttyUSB0
This is my first time to try and use BST so I don't know if I am missing something or not. Tried 2 different computers with the same results. Plugged in my Prop Scope to see if Linux saw that and  got this:
 $ dmesg | tail[ 9889.999582] usb 2-1: FTDI USB Serial Device converter now attached to ttyUSB0[10691.200413] usb 2-1: USB disconnect, device number 17[10691.201151] ftdi_sio ttyUSB0: FTDI USB Serial Device converter now disconnected from ttyUSB0[10691.201282] ftdi_sio 2-1:1.0: device disconnected[10730.128197] usb 2-1: new full-speed USB device number 18 using uhci_hcd[10730.324356] usb 2-1: New USB device found, idVendor=13e2, idProduct=0080[10730.324372] usb 2-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3[10730.324383] usb 2-1: Product: PropScope[10730.324391] usb 2-1: Manufacturer: Parallax Inc[10730.324400] usb 2-1: SerialNumber: A601FC7H
BST does not see the Prop Scope either and sees no other ports. The "configure ports" screen is blank. Any ideas?

Comments

• Just for giggles, check to see if you are in the dialout group.