Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
New Forum Issue - Poor Usability (w/ Analysis) — Parallax Forums

New Forum Issue - Poor Usability (w/ Analysis)

bartgranthambartgrantham Posts: 83
edited 2015-07-04 02:32 in General Discussion
This forum upgrade has been painful all around, and it's frankly pretty infuriating to longtime readers.  But instead of flying off in a rage, I've decided to start writing down a more constructive list of what's wrong.  This is something my wife and I do for a living, so I'm inclined to be unforgiving with this kind of thing.  Character and design style is one thing, but poor usability is another.

To be fair the previous forum had horrible usability problems, too.  And I know that Parallax isn't building this software themselves, so they're not in total control here and just trying to work what they've got.  That said, this system is so bad I have to either get this stuff off my chest, or simply abandon these forums and in turn Parallax.  So I criticize because I love, and I want this forum (and Parallax) to have exemplary UI/UX ("user interface"/"user experience").

I've attached a screenshot of what I see in my browser, which is Firefox on MacOS 10.10.

Threads are automatically sorted by votesI missed Chip's update on the P2 in the "Prop-2 Release Date..." thread!  I only knew of it because of the replies which were at 0 and therefore sorted by date.  If I wanted to see his update (votes==2), I'd have had to go to the first page.  Amazingly unintuitive, and kinda unforgivable.

This is not reddit.  Sorting by vote doesn't make sense in a linear forum context, which is what I think most users will expect.  More generally, sorting by vote doesn't make sense with pagination.