Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
MOD-player on Propeller — Parallax Forums

MOD-player on Propeller

overclockedoverclocked Posts: 80
edited 2014-09-06 20:03 in Propeller 1
I've tried searching both forum and web but didn't find anything. Anyone tried implementing a Amiga Module player on the Propeller? Is it possible, any code available? How could one handle the samples? Streaming samples from SD-Card? using external SPI-SRAM?

Lets here what you experts has to say about this.

Comments

• RaymanRayman Posts: 13,797
    edited 2014-09-04 06:01
    I'm no expert, but mod appears to be a simple wavetable with PCM data. So, I think it should be fairly simple to implement.
    I've seen other wavetable players here but don't remember one for .mod format...
  • Ahle2Ahle2 Posts: 1,178
    edited 2014-09-04 14:19
    It wouldn't be very hard at all and the quality (read sample rate) would be exellent because of the simplicity of the Paula in the Amiga. (it's technically waaaay simpler than the SID)
    If it had not been for the limited RAM in the Propeller, I would have done it long before SIDcog; Back in the days when the Propeller still was the coolest kitten in the neighbourhood. =^.^=
    Ariba started implementing a tracker on the Propeller some years ago, that used a SD card as "sample RAM". I think it was supposed to be able to play standard Amiga Sountracker/Protracker modules.

Btw, when we are at it.... here is my favourite Amiga module :)
  • Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2014-09-04 14:43
    My personal favorite was always Klisje Paa Klisje. It would be awesome to hear the Propeller Chip playing this.

For that matter, long before there were tracker modules on the Amiga there was a program called, Sonix, and the demo song, "Jays Song" was very catchy. Here's a link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ybZZXyZzOu0
    edited 2014-09-04 17:26
    How much memory does it need?