Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
[FYI] libpropeller: MIT C++ library — Parallax Forums

[FYI] libpropeller: MIT C++ library

SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
edited 2014-01-14 12:17 in Propeller 1
This post introduces libpropeller, a collection of PropGCC C++ objects free for use under the MIT license.

libpropeller is a collection of PropGCC C++ classes that I use every day for my work. I've been developing these classes for 12 months now, and have finally received permission to share them under the MIT license. Each class is optimized for efficiency in both code size and run time, and has unit testing. Using many of these classes I've made a complex real time application that remains small at less than 22KB (downloaded).

This library is a constant work in progress, so be sure to make a local copy and check any repository changes before updating. Many classes are not stable and the API may change dramatically. And as always with code, there are things that I would like to change and update. But, I've decided to go ahead and share the code in order to get it out there.

This library is open sourced under the MIT license. It's been supported generously by Kenneth Bedolla and Red9 Sensor. I'd like to thank both sponsors for allowing me to work on it, and agreeing to open source that work. As appropriate, the copyright of code that they supported has been documented. I'm the author of all of the current code, although much of it has been taken from Spin MIT code. Where appropriate this history has been documented and credit given. I'd also like to thank ersmith, jazzed, and David Betz for all their help with PropellerGCC issues and spin2cpp.

libpropeller Features:
- C++ for the Propeller!
- Optimized classes for many tasks
- Actively in development
- Extensive unit and field testing
- MIT Licensed

Relevant links:
Source: https://github.com/libpropeller/libpropeller
Wiki: wiki.libpropeller.org/
API Documentation: api.libpropeller.org

Everything is hosted on github here.