Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Timing/Using a Propeller as a stopwatch — Parallax Forums

Timing/Using a Propeller as a stopwatch

ryfitzger227ryfitzger227 Posts: 99
edited 2013-05-29 20:50 in Propeller 1
Hello.

I'm moving up from the BASIC Stamp for a project that I'm working on. I'm very new to this type of programming language and I'm looking for some help with getting to learn it.

My project is a stopwatch/timer that is accurate up to 1 microsecond (.000001 sec). This leads to my first question. Is the Propeller capable of doing that (I know the BS2 isn't!!)?

I think I understand what a cog is, but just to make sure I'll explain my plan for this. My stopwatch actually consist of 4 different timers.3 of them start at the same time. So here's how I've layed out my cogs.

Cog 1 - Main (controller). Get's I/O's status and starts/stops the necessary timers.
Cog 2 - Serial Communication. After the time is calculated (I'm not going to be doing any math on the Prop. The computer program will calculate the final time. I just need it to calculate how long - in Prop time - it took for me to press Button A and then Button B).
Cog 3 - Timer 1. The main timer. It will have the longest Elapsed Time.
Cog 4 - Timer 2. Starts at the same time as Timer 1, but will end with the shortest Elapsed Time. (Stops separately from Timer 1)
Cog 5 - Timer 3. Starts at the same time as Timer 1, and will have the "middle" Elapsed TIme. (Stops separately from Timer 1)
Cog 6 - Timer 4. Starts at a special time, but will end with Timer 1.

Can the Prop have 4 timers going at the same time and still keep an accurate resolution of 1 microsecond??

I don't see where this code will be very complex, but I could be wrong. All I'm doing is just calculating the ticks it was from the start of a timer to the stop. If I need to account for some overhead, or dividing by 10,000 to get a time in seconds, this will all be done in the program on the computer.