Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Mecanum Wheeled Robot with Machine Vision - Page 3 — Parallax Forums

Mecanum Wheeled Robot with Machine Vision

Comments

• Duane DegnDuane Degn Posts: 10,588
    edited 2012-04-09 14:55
    zoltan wrote: »
    Hi!

I was the one asking the questions in e-mail.

Let's say I'd like to built this thing too, and add a GPS unit so it can drive itself from point A to B; what would I need other than the Rover 5, the PPB, the wheels? I guess I need some kind of ESC for the motors - you mentioned the L298N + some diodes.

Sorry if this is a very beginner question; I'm just getting into robotics.

Welcome to the forum zoltan.

Beginner questions are fine with me.

Yes, I'm using L298N to control the motors. Post #57 shows the two L298N controllers on beakout boards. I think there's a link to the L298N chips in post #27. I linked to the diodes I used in post #59 (Oops, I never linked to the surface mount diodes. I'll fix that soon.)

Most GPS modules output a string that could easily be read by the Propeller. There are several objects in the OBEX (there's a link at the top of each forum page) to help use a GPS unit with a Propeller.

You might want to keep in mind these Mecanum wheels aren't as efficient as normal wheels. They're also not going to perform as well off-road as a lot of other wheels or the original treads of the Rover 5. Mecanum wheels are great for moving sideways etc., but you trade maneuverability for efficiency, speed and power. You'll use more power traveling with Mecanum wheels than traveling with normal wheels.

These Mecanum wheels might not be efficient, but they sure are cool to watch.

So depending on the goals of your robot, a different set of motors and/or wheels might be a better choice.
    edited 2012-04-10 20:10
    I just looked back threw this thread to see if I had posted the code for the RC version of the Mecanum robot. I hadn't. So here it is.