Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
pfth - An ANS Forth Interpreter for the Prop - Page 6 — Parallax Forums

pfth - An ANS Forth Interpreter for the Prop

Comments

• Ron SutcliffeRon Sutcliffe Posts: 420
    edited 2012-11-24 07:49
    Ok, yes I fiigured that out. I'am in no rush to get two cogs running at this stage, but I will port some of my stuff across to pfth, so that I can give it a real run.
  • localrogerlocalroger Posts: 3,451
    edited 2012-11-24 17:40
    Since I opened the thread by raining on your parade, I have to chip in to say the PASM version has gotten my attention. Now instead of looking like a boat anchor the C background functions look like powerful bootstrap supports for something that is fast and useful once started.

Long way to go from this point, but now I will be watching closely. As a developer I will eventually be needing tools to save and bootstrap an end-user non-development application. I think the C background stuff might be leveraged there. Of course, we also have to get things like SD access and other I/O stuff like keyboard and video accessible to Forth code...
    edited 2012-11-26 00:05
    David

RE ansi3.fth word +! I think you will find it should be

: +! dup @ rot + swap !

Ron
  • Dave HeinDave Hein Posts: 6,347
    edited 2012-11-26 05:37
    @Ron, I ran into the "+!" bug last night in init.fth, and fixed it there. I'll make sure I fix it in ansi.fth and ansi3.fth before I post the next update.

@localroger, thanks for your comments. A C version of Forth may not make a lot of sense for most applications, but there are a few cases where it does work OK. It runs very slowly on the Prop, but it is quite useable on my PC. The C version can be built with just a small number of words, and you can use ansi3.fth to implement the rest of the words. Or you can build it will all of the C source files to implement more words as kernel words. The full C version uses ansi.fth to fill in the rest of the ANS core words.