Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Comparison of Propeller Forth Implementations — Parallax Forums

Comparison of Propeller Forth Implementations

MJBMJB Posts: 1,235
edited 2012-10-28 07:23 in Propeller 1
I am quite new to Prop, and thinking about starting with FORTH.
But I could not find a comparison of strength, weaknesses, features - so which Forth do I start with?

I searched and read many forum posts about different Forth implementations like

- PropForth - which seems to be around some time http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?138399-Propforth-5.0-is-available-for-download
- Tachyon - which has a vera active thread http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?141061-TACHYON-A-Fast-and-small-Forth-byte-code-VM-(source-code-available)-Web-pages

others ??

If the knowledgeable people could contribute their insights in one place and some links for forther reading this could be helpful for other newcomers as well.

Thanks MJB (Germany)

Comments

• Peter JakackiPeter Jakacki Posts: 10,193
    edited 2012-08-06 07:10
    This comes back down to what you are trying to do. PropForth is very mature and has a lot of features for multiprocessing etc. Tachyon is barely a month old baby but has been designed from the ground up to for what it claims, to be both fast and small and especially geared toward fast I/O operations at the familiar Forth level. Eventually (think weeks) it will have full stand-alone capabilities with VGA, SD, keyboard and text editing yet it is primarily designed for efficient runtime operation as a resident target Forth with bare-bones hardware. At present it is strong enough to run and jump around unassisted. Next stage is to teach it to fly!

You might also notice that I have been doing up the source documents on-line along with Introductions and tutorials. This will probably end up as many different project pages, much like a series of project articles in a magazine complete with schematics and photos as well as videos. It's all fun.