Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Arduino IIC/I2C/TWI 1602 Serial LCD Module — Parallax Forums

Arduino IIC/I2C/TWI 1602 Serial LCD Module

arnold113arnold113 Posts: 43
edited 2013-04-07 05:46 in BASIC Stamp
I'm new to the Basic Stamp 2, so I've got a lot to learn. I bought the Arduino serial lcd display before I knew what I was doing. I hope you can help me. Can this I2C module be used with the BS2? Money is tight around here so I need to be able to use it if possible. If it can be used, then please help me understand how to write the program to com with it.
Thanks for your help Arnold

Comments

• PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2012-09-24 07:43
    Link it!
    If it's I2C, it's "serial", just not asynchronous serial.
    It's possible that you could use it with a BS2, but that will require bit-banging.
    That could be kind of slow.
    So, more details, please (provide that link.)
    edited 2012-09-24 07:47
    If it's like this -- http://emartee.com/product/41872/Serial%20LCD%201602%20Shield%20%20Arduino%20Compatible
    and if it's the HD44780-type display driver on it
    I'd be tempted to remove that red piggyback board and use it in 4-bit parallel mode, examples of which are many.
    edited 2012-09-24 07:57
    Here's a Nuts & Volts article about doing I2C with the BS2 --
    http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/cols/nv/vol5/col/nv115.pdf
  • arnold113arnold113 Posts: 43
    edited 2012-09-25 02:34
    I'm designing my own version of a sprinkler system controller. I've got working code for all now except the 16 x 2 LCD display. I'm using a 4x4 matrix keypad so thats uses up 8 I/O pins also a 4 to 16 decoder for output to 16 relay modules. Only 4 pins left for serial and whatever so going parallel for the display isn't an issue. I'll get busy reading the nuts and volts link.
    Thanks again.
    Arnold
  • vaclav_salvaclav_sal Posts: 451
    edited 2012-09-25 07:14
    arnold113 wrote: »