Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need Help with Strain gauge use. — Parallax Forums

Need Help with Strain gauge use.

jst97610jst97610 Posts: 4
edited 2012-05-11 11:02 in BASIC Stamp
I am fairly new to all of this. What i would like to do is use a strain gage with a basic stamp logic controller. The strain gage will provide a variable resistance depending on the deflection of the object it is attached to. My question is how do I use this variable resistance to control other actions when it is in certain ranges, or is this not possible?

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2012-04-10 04:53
    Welcome aboard.

The chief thing about strain gauges is that they change by only a small amount as they are put under strain.

In practical terms, that means you'll probably be using a bridge connection of several gauges plus an amplifier to get the signal boosted to a level you can use with your Stamp. The amplified signal will feed into an A/D converter the Stamp can read.

If you go to the Omega Engineering website, you will find several articles on using strain measurements. http://www.omega.ca/techref/default_eng.asp

Cheers,
  • dredre Posts: 106
    edited 2012-04-10 06:48
    Hi,

One of the secrets to successfully using strain gages is to mount them to get the
    maximum strain, as their output is very low. If you read the specs on a strain gage based
    load cell for instance you will see that the full scale output is on the order of 3mV/V. And
    if the recommended [stable] bridge supply voltage is, say, 10 VDC then the output at full
    scale load is only 30mV! Thus the need for amplification; or a high resolution ADC. [I
    like the use of an instrumentation amplifier like the INA125.]

In order to use the gages to sense a quantity other than just strain, for example, load, they
    must be mounted on an element which is under great strain due to the applied load. An