Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
ft232 — Parallax Forums

ft232

TiborTibor Posts: 4
edited 2007-12-26 08:48 in Propeller 1
Hello!
I am new in parallax forum. I know, this ist propeller forum, but I found not forum about FT 232.
That,s why I write hier.
I have a problem with FT232 driver.
With the first seria I had no problem, but the same circuit with an another seira is not operating. Can somebody help me why? Perhaps the internal EEPROM's program is another? How can I control it?

Thank for our answer.

Tibor Deaki

My email adres: mail@deaki.hu
·

Comments

• AleAle Posts: 2,363
    edited 2007-12-23 16:51
    Can you please describe a bit more your problem and the hardware involved.
  • TiborTibor Posts: 4
    edited 2007-12-23 18:55
    Hello Ale!

I bought two piece FT232RL some month ago. I made a pcb for it by FTDI datasheet page 23-th.·I didn't use RS232 interface, I drived the chip direct from microcontroller's TX and RX pin.·I connected to GND the 25, 7, 18, 21 and 26 pins. I connected two LED to Cbus0 and Cbus1 pins like the figure. I didn't use any other service pins. I started the FTDI program and the circuit worked well.

·The second two circuit made on the same pcb. The chip is the same type but·I think it came from an another, lather seria. This circuit now operates not exactly. If I connect the circuit to the PC, the PC display the present of USB port and the number of COM port. But I can't send data with terminal emulator. If I see the USB signal with scope, the good type's signal is thick, but the wrong's signal is rare. If I disconnect the circuit, the PC diplaxs the disconnection.

I read in the datashhet, this IC has EEPROM, and the operation is configurable. Perhaps that's the problem. The another possibility the disconnetion of service pins.
  • TransistorToasterTransistorToaster Posts: 149
    edited 2007-12-24 18:31