Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Seven Segmented display — Parallax Forums

Seven Segmented display

TrezitorulTrezitorul Posts: 68
edited 2008-02-05 11:10 in Propeller 1
I am fairly new to the world of electronics and I would like to know how do you setup a seven segmented display on the demo board(rev c) a schematic would very helpfull Thanks

Comments

• deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2007-12-22 18:06
    (a) Congratulations to your Demo Board - the "Porsche" of the Parallax boards! You now have a lot of possibilities at your fingertips.. Do you really want to add a 7-segment display?

(b) So you will... First get the pinout from the datasheet. You have 7 segments A, B, ..G sometimes also a "dot". The other side of these LEDs are connectd to an eigth (nineth) pin. This pin is either the cathode or the anode. Find out!

(c) All segments of the display need around 10 mA, so you best connect them through 220 Ohms resistors to 7 of the propeller pins you find appropriate.

(d) The eigth (nineth) pin must be connected to Vdd or Vss depending on whether it's the anode or the cathode.

(e) Generate the patterns you want to display; there is also an object for this in the OBEX as far as I can remember.

(f) The advanced version uses multiplexing the segments with a 1/7 duty cycle current pulses - you omit the resistors in this mode.

Have Fun!

Post Edited (deSilva) : 12/22/2007 6:14:19 PM GMT
  • TrezitorulTrezitorul Posts: 68
    edited 2007-12-22 18:45