Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Driving Simple RF Modules - ASK/OOK — Parallax Forums

Driving Simple RF Modules - ASK/OOK

Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
edited 2007-12-21 03:11 in Propeller 1
Hi,

I've hooked up a simple Radiotronix RF module circuit. (My first ever)
Here's the datasheets for the TX/RX modules.

TX - http://www.radiotronix.com/datasheets/RCT-ASUsersManual.pdf
RX - http://www.radiotronix.com/datasheets/new/rcr-rp_um.pdf

These are susposed to be as simple as it gets (I think), ASK/OOK
I've never done this before so I really don't know what I'm doing.

I just want to send a hello world text string and a single number.

QUESTION:

1) What Propeller object should I use ?

2) From the Propeller, Would I use standatd data communications
···· e.g Full Duplex 8,N,1 - or what should I do/use ?

3) Is an Encoder/Decoder or other IC required to send a data string ?

NOTE: SparkFun has a (visualy) similar looking module at http://www.sparkfun.com/datasheets/RF/KLP_Walkthrough.pdf

They say... "These devices are simple pass-through integrated circuits. Meaning, you set up your
baud-rate (as long as its within an acceptable range of whatever pair of devices you
are using), and then start sending bytes to the transmitter. Quite simply, it just sends
your data out the transmitter and the receiver grabs it, acting as if you had a wired
serial connection between them, minus the wire!"

However, I'm not sure if my Radiotronix modules are like this ?

What do you think ?

Thanks for the help,
-Areal

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I have a tree growing out of my head, but

what do you expect ? I'm a programmer.

Comments

• RaymanRayman Posts: 14,162
    edited 2007-12-19 22:25
    I had bad luck with the Sparkfun modules... I got 3 pairs and just returned them (hoping for a refund) today... Mine may have just been a defective batch... But, they only really worked halfway decently when sharing the same ground wire and <3 ft away...