Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Wow! Newbie experience... — Parallax Forums

Wow! Newbie experience...

bmb!bmb! Posts: 26
edited 2007-12-24 15:47 in Propeller 1
I've messed around with basic stamps for years, mostly hobby but a couple work related projects. I've had a Propeller prototype board on the shelf for months finally got around to wiring it up. All I can say is Wow! Anyone debating making the jump from Basic stamps to Propeller chips, go for it!

With low expectations I plugged my PS/2 mouse and VGA LCD monitor into the board then loaded the hires VGA demo. After compiling and loading to RAM I was greeted with a beautiful VGA picture, responsive mouse cursor, and smooth scrolling. Had to do a sanity check and look at the one chip doing all this work.

Only negative, which is a plus after the learning curve, is learning the new language. Being an OOP developer I cursed using the Stamp's simplistic basic language. But on the flip side I knew my way around PBASIC but I did miss objects, functions, etc...

Anyway, awesome job Parallax and thanks for all the free tools/documentation!!! I'm very excited to start digging into some project using this chip, and anyone sitting on the fence about the Propeller go pick one up and give it a try!

Comments

• OzStampOzStamp Posts: 377
    edited 2007-12-18 05:44
    Dear BMB !

Welcome to the forum.
    Great to hear you got it all going so easily .. the Propeller is awesome.
    And you will find many very helpfull people here .. so keep us posted how you go with it all.

cheers Melbourne Australia
  • BaggersBaggers Posts: 3,019
    edited 2007-12-18 10:47
    Hi bmb,

Welcome to the forum, and I agree with you, anyone lurking these forums who haven't got a Propeller, GET ONE quick so you can join in the fun, it's a fantastic chip.

Baggers.
  • kevin101kevin101 Posts: 55
    edited 2007-12-19 22:57