Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
MPPT Using the Prop — Parallax Forums

MPPT Using the Prop

PhilldapillPhilldapill Posts: 1,283
edited 2007-12-13 19:58 in Propeller 1
Hey everybody! I'm pretty new to the Prop and microcontrollers in general so bare with me.
I have a fairly large solar array that was "given" to me(a story for another time). I've read up quite a bit on Maximum Power Point Tracking to increase the available power output from the solar panels. To do this, I plan on using the Propeller, a couple Analog-to-Digital converters, and some high power mosfets. The Propeller, of course, will be the brain of the device and should be responsible for PWM control of the MOSFETS and at the same time, query the ADC's to determine current and voltage levels. From there, it will determine power output and adjust the PWM accordingly. By constantly monitoring the power output(10 times a second or so), I'm thinking I can maximize the efficiency of my panels.
·
Here is were my question(s) come in.
1. Good quality ADC's are expensive! I need to have the highest bit resolution I can from the ADC with a low input ref. voltage.
···· a. Is there any way the Propeller can actually read an analog voltage accurately and turn that into a binary number?(This thing is magical after all...)
···· b. If the Prop can't do the A-to-D thing, does anyone know of an inexpensive, 12-bit minimum ADC I can get?
·
2. I'm using a PWM object from the object exchange to do the PWM. I've made a slight modification to the code so that the duty cycle resolution is now from 0.0% to 100.0% instead of just 0-100(I added another decimal place). Now there are 1000 different duty cycle settings.
···· a. Is there a better way to turn the mosfets on completely and faster than by using the propeller outputs on the gate directly? I've heard of some IC's that are specifically designed for this task but I'm not sure if it's worth it. Your thoughts?
·