Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Laptop Screen Question. — Parallax Forums

Laptop Screen Question.

J. A. StreichJ. A. Streich Posts: 158
edited 2007-12-11 20:56 in Propeller 1
I have a dead Wallstreet iBook and I wanted to reuse the samsung LT141X2-124 LCD monitor, and was wondering if anyone has the pin-out for this LCD. Has anyone here done this?

Comments

• RaymanRayman Posts: 14,162
    edited 2007-12-09 03:16
    I think this would be very difficult because you'd have to interface with the LCD controller...
    edited 2007-12-09 12:30
    Actually, now that I think about it, perhaps the LCD controller on a laptop just inputs VGA signals... Maybe it could work, if you can figure out what goes where...
  • AleAle Posts: 2,363
    edited 2007-12-09 13:15
    I have a lombard, with a dead power board. I do not think they understand vga signals at all. they get something like 6 or 8 pins per color plus sync.
    edited 2007-12-09 14:25
    But, I think the graphics chipsets are basically the same as a desktop card, so I would imagine they put out VGA... A newer computer may have a DVI interface though... But, I don't really know what I'm talking about here [noparse]:)[/noparse] I may have to find a dead laptop to take apart...
  • Nick MuellerNick Mueller Posts: 815
    edited 2007-12-09 15:30
    Forget it.

Google for LCD-controllers to see how "simple" it is.

Nick

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Never use force, just go for a bigger hammer!

The DIY Digital-Readout for mills, lathes etc.:
    YADRO
  • Harrison.Harrison. Posts: 484
    edited 2007-12-09 21:15
    If I remember correctly, most modern laptop and embedded PC LCD panels use LVDS instead of the digital RGB signaling. Most laptop controllers output this directly to the LCD, skipping any standard external interfaces (such as VGA/DVI).