Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Crystal Voltage ? — Parallax Forums

Crystal Voltage ?

Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
edited 2007-12-07 14:11 in Propeller 1
I've hooked up a 5MHz crystal circuit, but I must ramp the input voltage up to 12vdc
to get it to 4998815 i.e 5MHz (using the FrequencyCount.spin program) which
uses the Propeller counters.

I place the output signal on pin 7 of the propeller demo board.

Will this damage my Propeller ? I'm not putting any other connections to the propeller
just the output signal of the crystal circuit.

Also, is 12vdc a normal voltage to run a simple 5MHz crystal at ?

Whats the max voltage for the 5MHz crystal on the Demo board if it was not connected to the propeller? (seperate from the demo board)

-Areal

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I have a tree growing out of my head, but

what do you expect ? I'm a programmer.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-12-06 03:22
    1) Without a circuit diagram, I really can't answer your questions.

2) Depending on your circuit, it might be possible to damage your Propeller

3) A lot of crystal oscillators are run at 12V, but a crystal oscillator can be designed for pretty much any voltage.
    The Propeller runs its crystal oscillator down to 2.7V

4) Vacuum tube crystal oscillators can run at several hundred volts. It depends on the circuit used.
  • hippyhippy Posts: 1,981
    edited 2007-12-06 13:52
    It's not so much the voltage the crystal oscillator circuit runs at but what voltage you are putting into the Propeller and through what circuit.

Yes; it's entirely possible to damage or destroy your Propeller Chip but without a circuit diagram of your oscillator and interface circuits it's impossible to say if you are likely to.
  • David BDavid B Posts: 591
    edited 2007-12-06 17:04