Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller Counters ? — Parallax Forums

Propeller Counters ?

Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
edited 2007-12-05 14:29 in Propeller 1
·
Hi,
·
I’m studying the propeller counters documentation.
·
I’m really new to electronics. I’ve managed to build a simple
Colpitts Harmonic Oscillator with a 5MHz crystal on my breadboard
according to spec.
·
I plugged it into the FrequencyCounter.spin program on Prop.P7
·
It seems to be functioning, but it’s displays a 5 digit number (13000 – 15999) which the spin program sayes is in Hz.
My crystal is 5MHz but 13000 is 0.013Hz· Correct ? not 5000000Hz· (5MHz)
·
Anyway, the reading is bouncing from 12000 – 15999
·
The sinusoid looks clean on my scopy, but I don’t have a good frequency counter
to double check it with.
·
Any advise, why is it only displaying 5 digits ?
·
Thanks,
-Areal
·

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I have a tree growing out of my head, but

what do you expect ? I'm a programmer.

Comments

• Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
    edited 2007-12-05 04:08
    Ok, now as I increase the voltage the value is going up, but it’s taking 6.0 vdc to get it to
    5MHz

Wont that kill my propeller ?

Ua... I ran it at 6vdc for about 30-45 seconds before I caught myself [noparse]:([/noparse]

What voltage should I run a 5MHz crystal at ?

-Areal

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔

Post Edited (Areal Person) : 12/5/2007 4:16:01 AM GMT
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-12-05 06:03
    You need to post your circuit. It's hard to advise you about voltages or why it might not work properly unless you post a circuit.
    Also, have you modified the frequency counter program at all? If so, you'll need to post that as well (as attachments).
  • AleAle Posts: 2,363
    edited 2007-12-05 06:53
    13000 or so would indicate 13 kHz, or 0.013 MHz. With the scope you can tell, looking at the period of the signal the frequency... you know f=1/p... p is the period (in seconds).