Python Downloader modified for MacOS

Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
edited 2008-01-25 22:12 in Propeller 1
I've taken the Propeller download program written in Python by Chad George
and modified it to work better under the MacOS. It requires an application
called CocoaDialog available from cocoadialog.sourceforge.net
to handle the file selection dialog and it automatically searches all USB to
serial adapters (/dev/tty.usbserial-). There's still one warning message for
a deprecated statement usage. I'll fix it sometime soon ... I'm new to Python.

Post Edited (Mike Green) : 12/7/2007 11:20:39 PM GMT

Comments

• crgwbrcrgwbr Posts: 614
    edited 2007-12-05 02:12
    welcome to the world of Python, Mike. I'm certainly no expert in it, but I have written a few nice programs in it. I'm curious though, where were you able to find the original python loader? I heard about it a few months ago, but was unable to find it.

regards,
    Craig

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    "... one of the main causes of the fall of the Roman Empire was that, lacking zero, they had no way to indicate successful termination of their C programs." -

"If Python is executable pseudocode, then perl is executable line noise."

"The best accelerator available for a Mac is one that causes it to go at 9.81 m/s2."

"My software never has bugs. It just develops random features."

"Windows isn't a virus, viruses do something."

"Programmers are tools for converting caffeine into code."

"Enter any 11-digit prime number to continue."
  • Fred HawkinsFred Hawkins Posts: 997
    edited 2007-12-05 02:42
  • samsn4samsn4 Posts: 49
    edited 2007-12-05 17:43
    So, does this mean we're closer to having a prop tool for Mac ?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Daniel Mueth
    WSIU-TV Master Control

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

"Just plug it in and let's see what happens"
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-12-05 19:12
    Daniel,