Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Battery Minder and code for Propeller — Parallax Forums

Battery Minder and code for Propeller

GamekillerGamekiller Posts: 5
edited 2007-12-06 15:18 in Propeller 1
Well i am back again to see if the public can help me. I first want to thank those that help me with the serial problem i was having. We got that all working.

Now on to a new topic "Battery Minding" and how it may be done.

We are looking at having the propeller monitor how much power it has left on its power supply and on the main drive unit batteries. I am new to a lot of this but i know it can be done.

I wanted to see what people have done out there so i do not have to reinvent the wheel.

Cheers,

Andy turn.gif

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
to mod or not mod. That is the qestion.

www.jambot.com

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-12-03 07:06
    Download the application note on the use of the counters (AN001) from the Propeller Downloads page. It describes (and gives code for) an analog to digital converter using two resistors and two capacitors (and two I/O pins). Your battery voltage is probably much more than the 3.3V maximum so you can use a simple voltage divider to reduce the battery voltage to something in the 0-3.3V range.
  • Nick MuellerNick Mueller Posts: 815
    edited 2007-12-03 09:13
    > We are looking at having the propeller monitor how much power it has left on its power supply and on the main drive unit batteries. I > am new to a lot of this but i know it can be done.

Short answer: It can't be done.

Long answer: You need to measure the current drawn out of the battery and integrate it over time. If the load is varying a lot, you also need correction factors (high load, less consumable capacity).
    Just measuring the voltage is not enough because batteries are designed to have a as much as possible constant output voltage over their live.