Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Testing whether strings are equivilant — Parallax Forums

Testing whether strings are equivilant

robo_noobrobo_noob Posts: 1
edited 2007-11-28 09:44 in Propeller 1
Hello all,

I am new to SPIN and micro controllers in general. Surprisingly I have been able poke and prod enough to get the a number of things working. One issue that I have not been able to figure out is testing equivilancy of strings. I am trying to send commands over a serial connection from a PC to verify whether my application is working correctly. I can receive a string and print it back out through the terminal.

Here is a snippet of my code. In it, I am storing the string in a long variable and am trying to evaluate it in a case statement. When I use numbers rather than character arrays this case statement works. Can someone explain to me what I am doing wrong? I am pretty sure I am missing some concept very important involving working with variables.

Thanks in advance!

VAR
  long command

OBJ
  comm         : "SeriialDriver"

PUB main

comm.start( PIN_RX, PIN_TX, 0 & INVERT, BAUDRATE ) 

repeat
    comm.getstr(command)
    case command
      "showVersion" :
        comm.str(string("command recognized:"))
      other :
        comm.str(string("unknown command: "))
        comm.str(command)      

Comments

• AleAle Posts: 2,363
    edited 2007-11-28 08:51
    variables of type LONG can contain only 4 bytes.... how are comparing a string with long where the string does not fit in 4 bytes... is well erroneouos.

Use for instance 4 letter commands like "shwv" and be done.
  • deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2007-11-28 08:58
    You have to manage "strings" all by yourself, there is little help from the language...
    A "string" is a pointer to a piece of memory you have to allocate in advance, terminated by a zero.byte (=C-convention)
    Comparing such pieces of memory needs hand made loops, CASE works with 32 bit values only.