Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
12 Volts into the propeller — Parallax Forums

12 Volts into the propeller

DavidMDavidM Posts: 630
edited 2007-11-14 20:22 in Propeller 1
HI,

I need to get an external 12 volt signal ( a short pulse about 100ms) to "trigger" an input into the propeller.

The 12v signal can be of reverse polarity, so I chose a bridge rectifier (DI104) to handle this, I then send that to an opto isolator ( 4N25) as shown in my schematic.

Q1) Can any one advise is this circuit will work?
Q2) Have I chosen the correct devices ?
Q3) Are the resistor values correct?

Thanks

Dave M

Comments

• darcodarco Posts: 86
    edited 2007-11-14 00:17
    I'm not sure if the shunt resistor (R3) is necessary, but the resistor values overall look good to me. The optoisolator seems correctly connected. I think it will work.

Then again, I am kinda new at this stuff. The circuit looks so simple that it would be pretty easy to whip it together on a breadboard and find out for sure.
  • LeonLeon Posts: 7,620
    edited 2007-11-14 00:23
    You don't need R3. Apart from that it looks OK. I used a similar circuit once to detect the presence of an AC signal.

Leon

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Amateur radio callsign: G1HSM
    Suzuki SV1000S motorcycle
  • Nick MuellerNick Mueller Posts: 815
    edited 2007-11-14 00:31
    R2 seems to be too small (R3 left out). You do have about 16V and want about 10mA through the diode. 1k6 or such.
    R1 looks too big. I'd try 3k (or have a close look at the datasheet smile.gif)

Nick

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Never use force, just go for a bigger hammer!

The DIY Digital-Readout for mills, lathes etc.:
    YADRO
  • deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2007-11-14 00:32
    Why do you opto-couple in the first place?
  • DavidMDavidM Posts: 630
    edited 2007-11-14 00:35
    HI Guys,

thanks for the replies,

I have the components so I will make up the circuit!

But..