Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
load and run individual cog programs from an sd card — Parallax Forums

load and run individual cog programs from an sd card

lyons5959lyons5959 Posts: 13
edited 2007-11-13 17:35 in Propeller 1
I have searched pretty hard to find a way to have one cog continuously load code from an SD card for execution by another cog. However, I have failed to find an example. Basically what I've been looking for is the "SD card boot menu" except loading programs for individual cogs and not being limited by the main memory size. I'm not a great programmer and developing something like this would take up too much time if it was not worth it.
So... Is it possible to develop an object or routine with these capabilities:
*main cog controls SD card interface
*main cog loads code from SD card and hands it to another cog for execution

The main reasons behind a project like this are to eliminate the main memory problem of being only 32k and sacrificing execution speed for larger programs. I know there are some knowlegable people in this forum who can help.
Thanks,
Michael

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-11-12 02:37
    From your question, it's not clear that you understand how the Propeller operates, particularly the interplay between cogs and the Spin interpreter.

It's easy to create an object that controls an SD card interface (FAT file system). There already exist objects to load data from an SD card into main memory. The main program can certainly take a block of 2K bytes (512 longs) and start up a cog with this as the program. Whether this is useful is another question.

The Propeller OS was one attempt to accomplish this by loading several different I/O drivers (keyboard / display / I2C) into their cogs and leaving them
    running while other programs are loaded from EEPROM that use the routines already running in these cogs essentially doing overlays. The same thing