Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Graphiocs Demo help! How can I cover the whole area of my 4 inch LCD ??? — Parallax Forums

Graphiocs Demo help! How can I cover the whole area of my 4 inch LCD ???

StratosStratos Posts: 15
edited 2007-11-15 00:14 in Propeller 1
· I am new to the propeller graphics "ability"·and·I am·trying to cover the whole are of my 4 inch LCD screen (479X234 NTSC)·using the Graphics _demo. How can I increase the screen buffer ? Increasing the number of tiles and adjusting the offset gives me weird results! It is displaying other page/s (?) data.·Has anyone has solved this problem ?

Comments

• deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2007-11-11 23:03
    Yes.
    You have also to adjust the TV or VGA to the new size - the tiles must fit!
    But you will most likely run out of memory when using double buffering..
  • StratosStratos Posts: 15
    edited 2007-11-12 12:08
    ·Can you please clarify how to do this ? What kind of adjustments ?· How do I disable double buffrering etc. ··I would really appreciate your help... or just point to a source so I can read it and understand it !
  • RaymanRayman Posts: 14,162
    edited 2007-11-12 12:37
    I have some notes on the graphics demo here:
    http://www.rayslogic.com/propeller/Programming/GraphicsDemo.htm

These are the buffers:
    bitmap_base = $2000
    display_base = $5000

If you replace all instances of one with the other, you get rid of double buffering.
    edited 2007-11-12 15:48
    OK, so I made the display_base=$2000...There was only once instance. Is this correct ? I got a lot of flikering ! So how would you avoid the flickering ? and how come the compiler says the I have 6333 long available ? It doesn't count the disp buffers ???etc...
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-11-12 16:02
    1) Double buffering is what prevents the flickering. If you disable the double buffering, you get the flicker. You're trading off appearance for memory.