Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
DOSonChip Problem — Parallax Forums

DOSonChip Problem

Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
edited 2007-11-09 02:26 in Propeller 1
Hi,

I'm trying to get my DOSonChip working.
I'm using the info in this thread, but I'm having no luck.
http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=616115

I'm trying to use the VGA_Text object

This code fragment is using the TV, there is· outa[noparse][[/noparse]16] := 1 &· outa[noparse][[/noparse]17] := 1
How would I convert this to VGA ? I know I've got to use ... term.start(16) but... is that all ?
The screen goes blank like this
************
· dira[noparse][[/noparse]5] := 1
· outa[noparse][[/noparse]5] := 1
· dira[noparse][[/noparse]16..23] := $FF····················
· 'start the tv terminal
· term.start(16)
· term.str(string("Press Enter twice to begin.",13))
· 'start the keyboard
· kb.start(26, 27)
· ' start the serial cog
· doc.start(7, 6, %00, 9600)
·
· repeat
··· c := doc.rxcheck
··· if c <> -1
····· term.out(c)
····· outa[noparse][[/noparse]16] := 1
··· c := kb.key
··· if c <> 0 and c <> $DF
····· doc.tx(c)
····· outa[noparse][[/noparse]17] := 1

*************

Thanks for the help,
-Areal




▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I have a tree growing out of my head, but

what do you expect ? I'm a programmer.

Comments

  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-11-09 00:47
    Do not use pins 16-23 in your program. It interferes with the use of the VGA display by term.

    Along those lines, what are you trying to do with the out[noparse][[/noparse] 17 ] := 1 and the outa[noparse][[/noparse] 16 ] := 1?
  • Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
    edited 2007-11-09 00:57
    I'm just trying to convert that code to use VGA, it's susposed to get the directory listing from the SD card
    and dump it to the screen.

    Thats all.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    I have a tree growing out of my head, but

    what do you expect ? I'm a programmer.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-11-09 01:13
    By using VGA_text (as term) and calling term.start(16), you're initializing a display module that outputs to VGA using pins 16-23. It should work pretty much the same as the TV version from that point onwards. I don't have a copy handy, but look at the demo program program for VGA_text.

    Take out the out[noparse][[/noparse] 16 ] and out[noparse][[/noparse] 17 ] as well as the dira[noparse][[/noparse] 16..23 ] and see what happens.
  • Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
    edited 2007-11-09 01:15
    I did as you said, I can't get it to do anything with the DOSonChip, the VGA is working
    ok.

    It's the DOSonChip that I can't get to do anything.

    [noparse]:([/noparse]

    Here's my code now. I wired the DOSonChip like this

    - UART_TX (pin 3) to P7
    - UART_RX (pin 4) to P6
    - RESET# (pin 5) to P5
    - CTS (pin 13) to VSS
    - DoC's VCC to Demo Board's VDD
    - DoC's VSS to Demo Board's VSS

    ***********

    OBJ
    ······· vga··· : "vga_text"
    ······· kb····· : "keyboard"
    ······· doc···· : "FullDuplexSerial"


    PUB start | i, c
    · dira[noparse][[/noparse]5] := 1
    · outa[noparse][[/noparse]5] := 1
    ················
    · 'start the vga
    · vga.start(16)
    · vga.str(string("Press Enter twice to begin.",13))

    ·'start the keyboard
    · kb.start(26, 27)
    · ' start the serial cog
    · doc.start(7, 6, %00, 9600)

    · repeat
    ··· c := doc.rxcheck
    ·· if c <> -1
    ···· vga.out(c)
    ··· c := kb.key
    ··· if c <> 0 and c <> $DF
    ····· doc.tx(c)·


    ***********

    Has anyone got this to work ??

    I can figure anything out if I have the simple first step working
    but I don't have the experience to get it going, because I a newbe.

    Thanks,
    -Areal

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    I have a tree growing out of my head, but

    what do you expect ? I'm a programmer.

    Post Edited (Areal Person) : 11/9/2007 1:28:41 AM GMT
  • Oldbitcollector (Jeff)Oldbitcollector (Jeff) Posts: 8,091
    edited 2007-11-09 01:30
    Areal,

    While this doesn't help with your problem, I'm simply curious why you chose to use DOSonaCHIP instead
    of simply using the Prop directly with the SD routines (ie: PropDOS) With the exception of being able
    to make directories, the prop seems to do everything that does.

    Not trying to flame, just curious if this is something I should add to my goodies. [noparse]:)[/noparse]

    Oldbitcollector

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Buttons . . . check. Dials . . . check. Switches . . . check. Little colored lights . . . check.

    — Calvin, of 'Calvin and Hobbes.
  • Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
    edited 2007-11-09 01:37
    @Oldbitcollector

    You may be very correct. I think I should maybe try that. I have previously bought this
    because I hoped it would be simple.

    I need simple things to start with, so I can learn, as much is always new to me.

    I'm doing well learning, it's just that I seem to always be learning everything all the time...

    Thank you, I'll try that as soon as I can.

    I think this DOSonChip may not be good, but I really don't know anything about it.
    so I really can't say if its good or not.

    Thanks,
    -Areal

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    I have a tree growing out of my head, but

    what do you expect ? I'm a programmer.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-11-09 02:04
    Areal Person,
    I notice that you're not really resetting the DOSonChip. Make sure you do an OUTA[noparse][[/noparse] 5 ] := 0, then pause for a few milliseconds like with WAITCNT(CLKFREQ/500+CNT), then do an OUTA[noparse][[/noparse] 5 ] := 1.

    Another thing is to check the signals from the DOSonChip. Sometimes they label a pin as TX when it's actually meant to be the transmit line from the microprocessor and, similarly, they label a pin as RX when it's actually meant to be the receive line from the microprocessor. I don't have any DOSonChip documentation handy to look at.

    I did look at the thread you mentioned and your setup seems to be correct.· Try the reset pulse.


    Post Edited (Mike Green) : 11/9/2007 2:09:44 AM GMT
  • Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
    edited 2007-11-09 02:26
    Thanks Mike, I tried with no luck.

    I'll continue to work on it. I followed the directions in the thread, but I don't know whats wrong
    I can't get it to do anything with the DOSonChip.

    Thank you for your help.
    -Areal

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    I have a tree growing out of my head, but

    what do you expect ? I'm a programmer.
Sign In or Register to comment.