Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
bits of arrays — Parallax Forums

bits of arrays

Lee MarshallLee Marshall Posts: 106
edited 2007-11-04 11:58 in Propeller 1
im a spin noob, having done the bulk of my prop programming in asm, however, i have recently come to notice how useful spin could be for rapid testing of stuff.
this question quite possibly has come up before, but i cant find it.

say, for instance, i define a long in SPIN....
VAR
  long a_long

if i were to do this:
PUB Main
  a_long[noparse][[/noparse]13]~~

that should SET bit 13 of a_long

what if i define an array?:
VAR
  long an_array[noparse][[/noparse]300]

and i did:
PUB Main
  an_array[noparse][[/noparse]10]~~

wouldnt that set all the bits in element 10 to 1??

what if i wanted to manipulate a single bit of an array element??

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand
-Confucius

Post Edited (Mr Crowley) : 11/3/2007 6:36:09 AM GMT

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-11-03 06:36
    The notation for setting individual bits only works for specific special registers like OUTA and DIRA. It doesn't work for variables, so an_array[noparse][[/noparse] 10 ] can only mean the 11th element of an_array (starting at zero).
  • deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2007-11-03 08:34
    @Lee: I am preaching this for months - with little success: There are no arrays in SPIN! There is a fine notation "[noparse][[/noparse]" and "]" with which you can predefne HUB memory and address any HUB cell, but that's all. There is no intelligence whatever from the compiler with this.

As Mike already pointed out, there is another very specific aplication for "[noparse][[/noparse]" "]"..

To your other question: See the thread on the ~ operator. Here Chip explains a VERY nice side effect of it, generally overlooked and thus underused

It helps to think of xxx~~ to work like xxx := TRUE

Eidt: Killed some typos...