Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need help with MCP3208 ADC and multiple cogs — Parallax Forums

Need help with MCP3208 ADC and multiple cogs

One Who WaitsOne Who Waits Posts: 7
edited 2007-11-05 18:31 in Propeller 1
Hello, guys!
I'm an absolute newbie, but it just happens that I really have to construct not so simple (for me) device.)
Briefly, I need to have three simultaneous processes, started in different cogs: first one will act as 30us width /10 Hz square pulse generator and the rest two connected to 2 MCP3208 (or 04, 01, doesnt really matter) chips. The idea is to measure very short signal (~100 ns) that's triggered (with a small delay) with the rising edge of the 30 us pulse using two synchronous detectors connected to MCP3208's. By far, I've been experimenting with the MCP3208 object from ObEx. The problem is that it uses assembly language (which I don't understand at all). According to the datasheet, conversion time depends on the sampling rate. I assume that in our case it's it's quiet high (~100 ksps), which makes it quiet difficult to synchronize. Could you please help me to figure out, how one could make the sampling time ~ 20-60 us and sampling rate 10 ksps. Just adding a 100 ms delay wouldn't change sampling time. I also had problems with starting the main procedure from MCP3208_test object in a new cog. Could this be because of the assembly part of it or shared variables? I'm really looking forward to your replies. If any one of you possibly have an assembler-free object for this chip, could you please share it with me. I know that SPI is a·really simple interface, but right now I just have no time to go throu it.
Thanks very much.
···

Comments

• Erik FriesenErik Friesen Posts: 1,071
    edited 2007-10-25 15:01