Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller Push Button Confusion — Parallax Forums

Propeller Push Button Confusion

artlogicartlogic Posts: 4
edited 2007-10-25 07:54 in Propeller 1
First off, I'd like to say that I am very new at electronics and only have a basic understanding of anything beyond simple digital logic, so please be kind.

I have seen two diagrams on how to attach a pushbutton to the propeller and I want to make sure I'm doing it correctly:

3.3V
    |
  -|
    |
P1--*
    |
    <
    > 10k
    <
    |
   GND

or

GND
    |
  -|
    |
P1--*
    |
    <
    > 10k
    <
    |
   3.3V

Are both these circuits equally viable? Is the only difference what the switch delivers to the prop when pressed? (Diag 1: logic 1 when pressed, Diag 2: logic 0 when pressed) Also, should I be worried that in the first diagram the propeller pin is connected directly to 3.3v? Thanks for the help.

Comments

• hippyhippy Posts: 1,981
    edited 2007-10-23 19:32
    Both should work although ideally you should have a resistor between the button/10K join and the Propeller pin to prevent damage when the pin is an output and the button is pressed, otherwise you are shorting that output directly to 0V 0r 3.3V
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-10-23 19:34
    Both diagrams will work.
    You are correct about what logic level the Prop pin will see when the switch is closed.
    You are also correct in being concerned about the connection to 3.3V in the first diagram.

It turns out that the same problem can occur with the second diagram and the Propeller pin
    being connected to ground. The issue is that the pin can be set to output mode through a
    programming error and, if the logic level output on the pin is opposite from that provided
    through the closed switch, you can get a short circuit, theoretically damaging the I/O pin.
    In practice, the Propeller is robust enough to survive this without damage. It's still a good