Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Newbie seeking advice — Parallax Forums

Newbie seeking advice

emily_hemily_h Posts: 3
edited 2007-10-20 04:11 in Propeller 1
Hi everyone,

I'm a mechanical engineer who got tricked into developing the electronics for a project, as well as the mechanical system. I have a basic understanding of analog electronics, plus some experience programming a BASIC Stamp that someone else had put together for me. So I've never picked out chips and components and accessories. I think I want to use a Propeller chip. Here's my basic project: I'm going to have 10 light variable resistors and two stepper motors. The stepper motors move a little shade that tries to shield the light sensors from the sun as the sun and the whole platform move around. It would also be nice to have a little LCD display, or maybe even the 2.5 inch display on the Propeller products page for showing the system status. The stepper motors come with controllers attached, I just need to be able to communicate with them via RS485 serial connections.

I'm thinking that the best plan is for me to buy the Propeller Education Kit, do a few demo programs, work everything out, and then move to a ProtoBoard or a PropRPM for the final project. Does anyone have example circuits for A/D conversion for the light sensors? Do I just build a little RC circuit and time the hi-low transition time? And can you recommend an RS 485 driver chip, since I believe I will need one or two of them?

Sorry that I'm a little out of the loop with techie electronics terms. Although I find this project a little scary, I'm looking forward to being a little more electronics-savy when I'm done!

Thanks!
Emily

Comments

• Ken PetersonKen Peterson Posts: 806
    edited 2007-10-19 17:08
    Hi Emily,